Notices

Day 1 again or not?

Old 01-20-2017, 11:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1 again or not?

I gave in tonight when after I threw away a glass of wine given to me later a friend brought me another one. I sipped on it and drank the whole glass. I hate the way it made me feel and didnt have anymore. I told my company and SO I was sick and took a bath and went to bed. I didn't get drunk I had just one glass 5 ounces. I'm new to recovery so does this mean tomorrow is back to Day 1 for me or can it be Day 8 because I didn't get drunk.
Old 01-20-2017, 11:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Noone's going to beat you up for drinking- we all know how hard it is.

For me? Yes, it would be day one because I've made a commitment to myself not to drink again.

A lot of people seem to see the reset to day one as a punishment but it's really not - to me it's just being honest.

Day 100 with two slips wouldn't mean much to me...for me it would be fudging the figures and fudging my commitment.

Your inner addict might be telling you if you have to start again, why make it worth it and drink some more....don't listen to that voice. It's a parasite and a liar.

Try to look at this as an opportunity - you can rework your recovery plan using the experience of tonight. ?
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ery-plans.html

You obviously need to clue your friends in to how important this sobriety thing is to you?
Maybe you need to be more choosy about the social invites you accept for a while?

You can do this

D
Old 01-21-2017, 12:57 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
sober style

Krusin, just get back on the right track. You know how to do it now, you'll have plenty of new days sober before you know it.
Old 01-21-2017, 03:07 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

These are learning experiences. The temptations and cravings will be there for a while. As long as you get back on track and develop some strategies to prevent it in the future it will be OK.
Old 01-21-2017, 04:29 AM
  # 5 (permalink)