Notices

Feeling lost

Old 10-14-2016, 06:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling lost

Tomorrow will be 40 days sober. I thought it would be a breeze from here but I'm not so sure. I have some what of a recovery plan and it's been working so far. *But suddenly, I haven't been sleeping well, my patients are non-existent and my anxiety is getting bad.

I think part of it may be because I haven't told anyone that I'm an alcoholic except my doctor and my therapist (who new well before I was ready to admit it). I told my husband that I wasn't drinking because I want to make healthier choices. He's a workaholic and really doesn't have any idea how much I was drinking or for how long (although very much aware of how much I am capable of drinking). I am very good at hiding my addiction from him and everyone else.

In past attempts to get sober, my family wasn't very supportive. My mother told me that I was a lot of fun when I drank. *My sister (who has never been a drinker) told me that our luncheons weren't the same when I'm not drinking and my sister-in-law (who has been in recovery for over 20 years) is planning a special alcohol infused punch for Thanksgiving, just for me.*

I'm really limiting my time with my family. Do I really need to be brutally honest with them about my drinking? I already know they will not be supportive. Is it any of their business anyway? I really don't want to use the word "alcoholic" with my husband either.*

Clearly, I'm not prepared well enough for long term success.
Old 10-14-2016, 06:29 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm expecting the first year to be extremely hard. At 32 days I still have trouble sleeping and am still moody as all get out. I have a headache quite often which I assume is from my brain struggling with the fact that I won't give my AV the time of day any more.
Old 10-14-2016, 06:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)