Notices

Anxious Newbie

Old 08-20-2016, 08:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anxious Newbie

Hi all, this is my first time on a forum, it's an avenue I have decided to try to talk to others with similar problems.
I'm 32 years old and have had a binge drinking problem for nearly 10 years. I have made myself ill (yet again) due to my lack of control. When I used to drink, it was to take a break from my severe anxiety, but since meeting my partner, I have no real reason to drink, and yet I can't seem to stop. I'm getting support but I don't think it's working. Right now I dislike the person I am, and am risking my job, feeling very anxious.

Old 08-20-2016, 08:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome. For a first forum, you picked the perfect one. We are all in the same boat. I believe in this place, and I hope before the day is done, you do too.
Old 08-20-2016, 08:31 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
JD
You're not shackled to not drinking, you're free from drinking

Welcome aboard. You'll find a lot of good people and support here. It's hard to get sober but even harder to stay sober. Do you have a plan on how you'll do that? There's good resources on this site to do that.
Old 08-20-2016, 08:35 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have quite serious alcoholism and would like nothing more than to quit drinking all together and forever. I cannot go to rehab due to cost, so I must try and do this alone and need all the support I can get. I've heard positive things about this app.
Old 08-20-2016, 08:39 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thank you for your kind responses, You're right, it's hard to stay sober, especially in a society that seems to be built upon drinking alcohol, (parties, Christmas, weddings, funerals, good news, bad news...etc lol) A few years I told my boss I wasent going to have a drink at the Christmas work do, and she looked at me like I'd sprouted an extra limb I mean, she was genuinely horrified!