Notices

I'm new to recovery and I need to stay quit this time.

Old 08-19-2016, 07:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new to recovery and I need to stay quit this time.

Hi everyone. As you can see from the title, I am new to recovery and need it now more than before.

I was sober following a treatment program for about two months earlier this year. I relapsed in May and have been drinking ever since. When in my treatment program, the "old timers" that were in our group told me that every time you relapse, it gets worse.

That's something I definitely learned the hard way.

I have recently been diagnosed with a Borderline Personality. This explains a lot about why I use alcohol to combat not having an emotional skin. The problem here, is that when I drink, I become a monster. Before, it didn't happen around my family, just around my boyfriend.

The first time I quit was because I was tired of being a monster.

Fast forward and now the drinking has progressed to a point that I'm on the outs with my family after a long weekend at our cottage. I either called every single one of them (10 people) out of name or started an argument with them. I even called my sister in law "********".

Fast forward four days, I come home drunk from the bar and I asked my boyfriend to let me call my phone because I couldn't find it. I guess in my drunken mind I thought he was taking a long time handing me the phone and I felt like he was deleting things out of it before handing it to me. I flipped.

Guys, I punched him.

I punched my boyfriend in the ******* face.

He kicked me out (rightfully so, I should actually be in jail right now.)

The drinking is completely out of hand. I'm hitting people now? I'm THAT person? The abusive alcoholic??

I used to be such a sweet and good person, and something is just really ****** up inside of me. Obviously, I'm getting therapy.