Notices

Conference approved literature

Old 12-29-2015, 06:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Conference approved literature

I'm just wondering how many people use or read material that is not conference approved.

The main literature I use for my recovery is the Big Book, Twelve and Twelve, and the Twenty four hour book.

I didn't realize until a while back that the Twenty four hour book is not conference approved. I've been using the Twenty four hour book for many years every morning as part of my daily prayer and meditation.

But now somehow I feel a little "less pure" of a recovered alcoholic because I'm relying on something that's not conference approved.

I'm considering switching to "Daily Reflections" for my prayer and meditation in the morning because it is conference approved.

Does anyone ever struggle with this issue?

How do you feel about using AA literature that is not conference approved?

And if you're sponsoring someone is it ok to suggest literature that is not conference approved?
Old 12-29-2015, 06:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
12-Step Recovered Alkie

I read a lot of non-converence-approved stuff - and really like Daily Reflections over the 24 hr book but that has nothing to do with whether it's on the list or not. I've recommended all my sponsees read Sermon on the Mount as well as other non-AA stuff. Bill and Bob read mostly non conference approved literature so I follow their lead.
Old 12-29-2015, 06:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
It`s ok to stay sober

I use the big book mainly.I do have several copies of the 24 Hour A Day Book and I read it since it helped me in the beginning so much.Some of my favorite AA books are the 12x12,Big Book,and AA Comes of Age.
There is no conference disapproved material.My old home group uses the 24 Hour A Day Book.I wouldn`t worry about the "less pure" alcoholic stuff.At one time I got off on all sorts of non AA books and stuff and it made me nutty as a fruitcake.
Old 12-29-2015, 07:07 PM
  # 4 (permalink)