Notices

Tell me I'm not the only one?

Old 10-15-2015, 10:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tell me I'm not the only one?

My name is Emily,
I am not new to beginning recovery but I just can't seem to make relationships in 12 step meetings that help me stay sober, and rejuvenate my soul. I feel like everyone I've met already has "enough friends," I feel like the meetings i go to are really clicky and I feel like I am on this journey alone. I work in healthcare by day and I am an artist by night and I am desperately trying to find others with a dual diagnosis of depression that was there way before the addiction ( for me, drinking.) I feel like my life is passing me by and I haven't been brave enough. Thanks for letting me share. ❤️ and peace to all.

Emily
Old 10-15-2015, 10:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, illuminateme.

I don't use AA but many people here do and they will be along soon.

You will definitely find the commonality of dual diagnosis here, also. People speak of it.

The support, understanding and encouragement of the members here is superb.

Again, welcome.
Old 10-15-2015, 10:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to the family Emily. You've come to a caring community with a ton of support.

Glad you found us.
Old 10-15-2015, 11:01 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome, Emily

You are not alone. I felt very much the same in those meetings many times. I also have a day job while being a writer on my own time. And I very much relate to the feelings of not being brave enough at times (though I doubt we as artists are anything less than brave! tbh). I also struggle with depression , and am currently in the depths of it.

This is a great forum and great bunch of people in recovery. I hope you will hang around, do some reading, posting, and find some friends here
Old 10-15-2015, 11:12 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
AA member

Welcome to SR Emily.

Have you asked for help in the meetings you attend?and have you got a sponsor?