Binge drinker?? I can't stand the anxiety....

Old 06-16-2015, 05:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Binge drinker?? I can't stand the anxiety....

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here. There is so much to my story, tootoo much to post so I will try to shorten it:
I believe my husband is binge drinker. Three years ago his drinking became ridiculous iAnytime we socialized he was usually the husband that took it up a notch and was RIPPED. Other husbands drank , but still were able stop. I feltfelt soso embarrassed soso often that I told my husband we no longer were going to socialize. We were on very rocky ground. He did admit he became out of control. He even admitted to our daughter that he got out of control and he promised her that he would stop. Well, after many fights, some counseling, he scaled back quite a bit. Then most recently we went to a birthday party, he got very drunk. He even hid in a hallway at the place sucking down a beer like it was the last he would ever have. He usually now drinks on his two nights off. At functions he cannot stop, he gets wasted. I no longer willbe taxi driver. Just The thought of going to any function causes me so much anxiety. Feeling so lost
Old 06-16-2015, 05:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Oh LB, sorry you are here, but welcome!!!

It sounds like he is trying to "control" his drinking. I hope you just stick around and read, read, read! You'll find so much information here and support.

What are your plans for you through all of this? Just curious where you are in this journey....
Old 06-16-2015, 06:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello Loveblue,

So 3 years this has been an issue and he really hasn't wrangled his addiction. He sounds like the kind of 'binge drinker' that can't stop unless he totally abstains. Was this outcome discussed in counseling?

What are you doing for you? Do you have an exit plan?
Old 06-16-2015, 06:46 PM
  # 4 (permalink)