Notices

making marriage hard

Old 02-28-2015, 03:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

making marriage hard

My husband still drinks, just drank 5 pints of strong larger and a bottle of wine then moaned he'd run out of alcohol. Usually I would drink with him, I wasn't jealous because drunk people are really getting on my nerves at the moment. He says I'm judging and got really offended when I said maybe he has a problem. There is no maybe about it! I know unless he wants to do something about it he is not going to stop and I'm very new to being sober and I have no right to judge. But I'm worried that me sobering up could wreck our marriage. He doesn't get why I've stopped at all. Just feeling a bit lost, whilst he's passed out drunk and snoring.
Old 02-28-2015, 03:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm sorry, Oswin.
Old 02-28-2015, 03:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
waking down

You may want to check out the friends and family section. I can only speak from experience. My wife got sober years before I did. My response was mostly to leave the house to drink and hide a lot of my drinking at home mostly as a ki d of bent way to support her sobriety. She never gave me a hard time about drinking. In fact, I would come home from worked all surly and pissed off and she would tell me to have a glass of wine. I long thought she had been the one with the problem, but with time I came to realize in my own way I was just as bad. It just took me longer to be ready to quit. In the meantime, there is no doubt we developed separate lives though we're still together. At this point we seem okay with that on a certain level. We're soul mates and best friends.

I guess from where I sit I would discourage confronting him often if at all about his drinking, especially if he already knows how you feel. Some people feel nagged and just get defiant.

Take care of yourself. Be supportive but know your boundaries and your limits. Do what is best for you. Patience isn't easy. I can control only me and no one else.