Notices

Iop?

Old 01-01-2015, 02:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Iop?

I'm just curious of one's experiences in Intensive Outpatient programs for alcoholism. I will be starting this over the weekend and would like to know how everything goes.

I don't need to know about detox as I've white knuckled my way through that one more time already. I am just more curious about the curriculum and/or what they thought they got from that instead of just therapy and AA.

I'm determined that I cannot drink again as I've ruined my body and family too many times.
Old 01-01-2015, 03:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Did you get any information from the IOP that you registered for? It's likely that they could give you an idea of what to expect week-to-week because I think that programs vary from place to place. I have no personal experience though.

Good luck with your decision to stop drinking.
Old 01-01-2015, 03:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
EndGame

I had a pretty good idea about IOP before I went, but I did it mostly because, well, I needed to do something. That, and I was virtually unemployable when I first put down the drink. Also went to daily AA meetings for the same reasons. I had constant and intense cravings every day for several months, and IOP helped me to stay away from alcohol, at least for the time I was there. I was intent on not failing (again), and the thought of getting a dirty urine or breathalyzer was harrowing. The general orientation of IOP is not to get you sober, but to help you stay sober, so there's a lot of talk about triggers, people places and things, and relapse prevention. Making something better of yourself.