Notices

newbie, need some support

Old 08-01-2004, 12:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
jcm
Paused

Unhappy newbie, need some support

Hi this is my first time here. I just need some advice and support. We just found out my (adult) brother has been using heroin for the past 4 yrs. It was an absolute shock to my entire family and friends. And the way we found out was even more shocking because he was arrested for stealing money from where he works. I know the drugs can change your personality but it is so hard to believe this has happened. Anyways, he willingly went to a detox facility and called us every day crying and so remorseful for what he had done. After detox he spent one night with my parents before we drove him out of state to a 12 step recovery center to stay for a couple weeks to complete recovery. He actually received a scholorship for 1 week because they believed he would be such a high success rate. Very motivated and not the typical user. Anyways, he entered this 12 step on a Tues (After a 5 day detox). On Fri they thought his behavoir was suspicious and drug tested him., He was positive !!! He sweared he didn't use anything and believes it's still just in his system from detox. My big question is : Does anyone know how long you can test positive for opiates after using??? I just don't think it's possible for him to still test positive a week out. Also the counselor at the facility told my dad that my brother had told another patient that he had stuff with him and offered him some. My brother of course denied it and has no idea why someone would set him up. I am just horrified at what these drugs can do. I'm embarrassed to say I lived a very sheltered life until now! I think he's still using and lying to my parents and hurts me so bad to watch it go on. He was immediately sent home from the recovery center and my parents reluctantly took him in, too afraid of what would happen to him if they let him go. I just don't know where to go from here. I am so hurt a