Notices

Dealing with old friends

Old 11-14-2014, 02:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dealing with old friends

I am new to the recovery process...very new. I haven't even been sober for two weeks yet.

I am feeling very lost and confused and uncertain in terms of what to do about my social life. Last weekend was my first "sober weekend." It was not as hard as I had imagined. On the contrary, it was a tremendous relief to wake up and not feel hungover (with its physical and mental sickness, remorse, etc.) I still don't feel fantastic, but I feel better.

In the past, I have typically hung out with friends on the weekends, and all these friends drink. Some of them even use drugs (although that has not been my problem I am fully aware that I cannot be around drugs and drinking in any form right now). I don't really think I want to place myself in a situation where I am around other people drinking/in bars/etc. for a very, very long time (if ever).

My point is, what -- if anything -- should I say to my old friends? A lot of them called me and texted me last weekend trying to get me to come out and get drunk with them. I declined by making up an excuse. I don't really want to tell them about me being in AA. It's not that I want to hide it, but the truth is I have spent he past few years surrounding myself with people who are not good for me, and who are not good friends. Perhaps that's unfair. They may very well be good, wonderful people -- but they are heavy drinkers, and they are people who have always encouraged me to get drunk right along with them, even when I admitted to having a problem.

I don't believe it is possible to get them to hang out with me without alcohol, and I don't believe I am stable enough to go and be around alcohol at this point.