Notices

Can anyone relate?

Old 10-28-2014, 01:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can anyone relate?

I Am still really new to this not drinking / sobriety process only just into 2nd week but I've noticed an odd thought popping up.

It goes something like- " you've done this job during the day, you've been to work, you've done house tasks, you've exercised, you've spent time with family / friends / kids, you've eaten. Now, it's time to get drunk, to pass out- that is the next stage, so you need to go and do it, and if you don't do it, you'll just be stuck in this constant loop of life, tasks you have to do and you get no break from"

I am fully aware that alcohol will never provide the relief from the stresses of life although it's almost like it has been the tool for the last few years to escape.

It's like a restlessness that won't go away, can anyone relate? What are some of the things that may help or even replace these feelings?
Old 10-28-2014, 01:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think we do need to replace alcohol with new things in our lives, people and things that we enjoy.

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ething-do.html
Old 10-28-2014, 01:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

What Anna said + link

Exellent
Old 10-28-2014, 01:24 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Great post. Do you have access to a support group? That will not only occupy your excess time, it will pay huge dividends in your recovery, if that is what you choose. Always a choice.

Sent from my iPad using SoberRecovery
Old 10-28-2014, 01:31 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I really like the idea of a support group. I will have to research in my area.