Notices

I need help...

Old 07-13-2014, 01:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need help...

Hello everyone,

I have been reading posts on this forum for the last few weeks, i never decided to make an account and share my story, but i feel that its the only thing left to do in order to beat my alcohol addiction.

I am 24 years old and i have been drinking heavily since the last 3 years, or at least it sounds heavy if i ever ask someone if they consider the amount i drink, as much... About 4 litres of alcohol. When i take a drink i just cant seem to stop until i feel so wasted that i can fall down on my bed.

I have been trying to kick this addiction many times now, most people my age that i know dont seem to have a problem with alcohol, they can just enjoy it 1 day in a week, i used to be like this, but slowly it changed for me...

What i am really hoping to get out of this is to show support to others on this forum that are working on overcoming their addiction, and also hopefully can find the strength to keep away from it myself.

So i do have a question for anybody who's reading this:
What is the best way to deal with cravings? I always find myself in the evenings feeling anxiety, its like i cant enjoy anything that i used to enjoy doing when i was younger, before i became addicted.

At such moments its like a wave of anxiety coming over me, a voice inside my head that tells me to drink so it will all go away, and obviously i used to do this alot, but mentally and physically i start to feel terrible and i also dont like the person i am when i'm drunk, i feel alot of guilt about my behaviour towards others afterwards, i just want to be free and enjoy life again...

It was rather tough for me to post this message, its weird to feel like its weak to ask for help, but i realize its not a weakness, its weak that i need alcohol to enjoy life and i dont want this any longer!

So everybody else stay strong and lets get through this together.
Old 07-13-2014, 01:21 PM