Loneliness and boredom

Old 04-12-2014, 01:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Loneliness and boredom

Hello all, this is my first post on this sub-forum. I'm not sure where it belongs, really, but I felt this might be the best place.

If I had to sum my relationship up in one word, it would be: lonely. Second word would be boring.

In a nutshell, as a bit of a back story, my bf and I have been together for a year. We moved in together a month after we met (long story).

I'm ten days sober. He is not.

Our relationship was founded on drinking together. I've tried to break up with him on three separate occasions to no avail (more long stories). One of my "secret" side reasons for stopping drinking was to see if he would actually, finally, break up with me (or if it would make breaking up with him easier for me).

I know I'm new to sobriety but like I mentioned in a prior thread, I feel that the desire to break up is a "preexisting condition".

I have a history of attendance in Al-Anon and am not unfamiliar with accepting alcoholics and their behavior as something I cannot fix or control. My father was an angry "high-functioning" type A personality drunk and my mother an extreme codie... before I struggled with alcohol, I went to Al-Anon as part of my recovery plan from anorexia. Anyhow (so many long stories! Trying to keep this brief and readable, lol)