Newbie At This!!!

Old 06-28-2004, 11:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie At This!!!

Okay,here goes. I am new at this. Decided to wait till I was alone to add a post. My husband is a binge drinker and won't admit it. He works nights and doesn't drink during the week...unless he calls in sick or has a holiday scheduled. On these occasions he will buy two four packs of John Smith's original Bitter(440ml e...4% vol) and a 1.5 litre of Scotch/Whisky(40% vol),which he uses a chaser. He will drink the two four packs and the whole bottle of Scotch/Whisky in one night. If he is off the next few nights...we start the whole process over again the next day. During these drinking binges he will drink till he passes out...wakes up and drinks more till he passes out again. One good thing is he is not violent in any way. He is a good natured drunk..if there is such a thing. I just get really tired of going on holiday and having him drink every night. He says he just does it to sleep. Guess he started drinking at a early age. Seems to be the customary thing for some British blokes to do.Hubbys whole family are drinkers. Enjoy going to the pub for a pint. Me...being American...I was rather stupid marrying into a family of this type. I was... "IN LOVE"... with the idea of living in the UK. Thought it would be so much different then what it has turned out to be. I married five years a go and have stayed here. Why...is because I love this bloke. But know now he won't change. So what do I do now???? I am at a turning point in my life....middle aged...without a good job..or a pension for old age. I am rambling on and on..but wanted to see if there was anyone else out there who is going through the same type stituation I am. Thanks for reading.
Old 06-28-2004, 12:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

bjmt -
I think you'll find a lot of people on these boards going through the same type of situation you are going through.