Notices

Hi Everyone, Im new to SR

Old 09-15-2013, 02:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi Everyone, Im new to SR

Hi Everyone, I'm new to Sober Recovery.

I've been binge drinking for the last 15 years. I know its starting to take its toll on my health, so I want to kick the habit once and for all before I do any serious damage and hope to reverse the damage I've already done.

I'm not new to quitting bad habits (cocaine, pharmaceuticals, tobacco, caffeine, sugar, Cable TV). When I quit smoking cigarettes 3 years ago after failing daily for years, I managed to stay quit because I avoided having that ONE cigarette. I knew from experience it would make me a pack a day smoker again. I know I have to apply the same mindset to drinking.

I've tried to stop drinking many many times as well. Because I didn't think drinking was nearly as damaging as cigarettes, I always thought I could control it and just have a few beers here and there. NOPE. One beer one day, turns to 3 the next, turns to 6 or more for the next few days, until I was too sick and needed to take a day off...I would repeat the cycle again and again. I learned I have no self control when it comes to drinking. I can't quit for a few months then have ONE drink. The pattern would repeat as sure as the sun will come up tomorrow. My goal is a simple one. Not to have that ONE drink.