Notices

I am afraid

Old 09-05-2013, 07:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am afraid

For the most part of the past two months I've been binging. I've done a lot of stupid things and things i don't remember. I've spent the little money i have on booze. I've spent nearly all of my days off doing nothing but drinking, and I've even secretly drank at work on two occasions which has effected my productivity of course. I've become a kind of stranger to my wife who never knows how to deal with my being wasted every time she comes home or out at a part bc I'm embarrassed to be drunk at home. I'm a musician, or at least, i want to be but am not in reality since i flush all my time down the toilet.

The thing is, i really love being sober. It feels so much better, like I'm able to be who I truly want to be. But right now it feels like i can't do it. Like I'm really not able to stop drinking. And I'm really afraid of this. What if this is the end? What if I'm not strong enough and this stupid addiction is just going to consume my life and one day I'm going to be black out drunk and fall down some stairs or something.

I feel really ashamed of myself. I'm 31 years old. And I really feel like the most effort I've put into anything in my whole life is drinking. That's pathetic.

Can I be sober? I feel like it's truly possible that the answer is no. And that is really freaking me out.

I'm sorry for the depressing thread, i really would rather be trying to uplift the community here. But I'm in a dark spot and i figured you all would understand.

For those being sober: you're an inspiration, truly. For those caught in the cycle of addiction: i feel your pain.

I feel so bad right now.
Old 09-05-2013, 07:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by Alcofribas View Post
Can I be sober? I feel like it's truly possible that the answer is no. And that is really freaking me out.
Can you be? Yes. But your addiction is doing its best to convince you otherwise.