Notices

help

Old 07-26-2013, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

help

Hi,
I'm not an addict myself but was up until 6 days engaged to one. I'm hoping I can get some insight because I'm confused as to what to do here.
He is almost 4 years sober now, he was just under 2 years sober when I met him. On our first date he was very upfront with me and told me he was in jail for 8 years for attempted murder, and was a recovering addict. I respected that he told me this truth on the first date, it comforted me in a strange way. To know that he has addressed his past and is working towards being a better person. Also, he is 14 years older than me.
I wasn't living in the same city at the time and he would come up to me every weekend to spend a few days together. We met late May 2011 and when I went back to the city in September, I was moved into his new place by October. We had an interesting relationship, I am an artist who was going into my final year of school and he was more than happy to financially support me so i could focus on my work. He's a construction worker so if there was ever a time he needed help I would go with him to his job sites and help in any way I could. Our condo was tiny, and somehow we managed to only have 5 big fights in the 2 years of our relationship. He would tell me stories of his past, but I never saw him as an addict... looking back on it I realize I should have informed myself about dating an addict and what to expect. My parents liked him, my sister and brother not so much.