Notices

I really have everything to lose....

Old 06-03-2013, 10:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I really have everything to lose....

Hi all

I have had enough. Over the last 5 years my seemingly relentless determination to press the self destruct button in regard to drinking has gotten out of control. My background is that I am 30 years old, from England and work in the emergency services. I have a job I love, a fiancé I love more and in the last 3 years purchased a home that I could only dream of when I was younger.

I am a only child and have a mother who has had many traumatic experiences in her life. She found her father dead when she was 15, one brother died of MS and one murdered in his own home. She understandably has a lot of issues. She heaps pressure on me, as I now live a long way away from her. My dad is laid back and puts up with a lot from her. My mums family have a history of alcohol abuse, her father was an alcoholic before he died and both brothers followed suit. It's worries me... Is alcohol abuse hereditary?