Girlfriend Concerned

Old 04-01-2013, 02:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Girlfriend Concerned

I am a 33 year woman in Dallas. I am very new to this relationship. We have been dating for 2 months. He is divorced for about 7 years and has co-custody of his 15 year old daughter. He has been unemployed for about a month. He just a received an offer for a new position that he was suppose to start today. I have noticed over the past months that there is a lot of drama around the ex-wife and daughter. The ex-wife is remarried, they have an 8 year old and one more on the way. My boyfriend's daughter lives with them and he has her on the weekends. There is also a lot of drama in the place that he lives. He moved into his sisters 6 months ago to help take care of his mother who is virtually blind. I think he is regretting the idea of moving in there. He is talking about moving out as soon as possible. He doesn't seem to be the best situation all the way around. I have seen him sober several times. He does drink more than me but he is a big guy. (6'5 and 290) I am concerned because he called me this weekend very drunk on the day his daughter was suppose to go back to her mother. Supposedly the daughter called her mother and caused typical teenage drama (I remember how I was). Things got heated between the ex-wife and my bf. He asked me to come over and asked if we could go to the park to talk after his daughter left. I said I was on my way over. When I got there he was very intoxicated also very angry, not at me but at the situation. He confessed to me at the park, he had taken some cocaine (the first time in his life) last night. Since I have seen him sober and spent time with him sober, I am not ready to throw in the towel but I am very upset and need to talk to him about this. I also want to help him. Any advice or thoughts?
Old 04-01-2013, 02:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Engineer Things; LOVE People

Back out the way you drove in.

Smile, wave, and back away slowly.