Notices

What to do when grandchildren are involved

Old 03-21-2013, 05:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question What to do when grandchildren are involved

I'm new to Sober Recovery. Found it online looking for answers last evening. I am at a loss as to what to do about my 31 year old daughter who lives with my husband and I and is doing drugs. It used to be easy when she was younger. We do not tolerate drug use in our home, and if she was using, she had to leave. Now she has a son who is 8 years old and a dear. If we ask her to leave because she is using, she will take him as well (even though we ask her to leave him with us), so we would be putting him in danger. Our daughter is bipolar, borderline personality disorder, PTSD, ADHD and global learning disability (slow). She has tried to kill herself 7 times. When she takes her medication, and sees her counselor and psychiatrist, she can be a wonderful, compassionate and caring person. When she doesn't, she is quite the opposite. She recently stole nearly $ 2,000 from us, lied about it, then threatened to kill my husband and trash our house. She finally agreed to sign herself in to a psych unit, but they only kept her 4 days. She came home angry, and not wanting to obey our rules. Our other daughter and granddaughter live with us also, so her behavior is affecting them too. We are getting close to asking her to leave if she cannot abide by our rules, but she won't leave without her son. Any advise would be very welcomed. I have trouble thinking up boundaries to use with her.
Old 03-21-2013, 05:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I really have no advice but I want to say I am so sorry for the situation you are in.
Old 03-21-2013, 05:10 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm sure there's some way you can get custody of the child or somehow make it so the state considers her a risk to the child. I understand that this might be a difficult thing to do to your own daughter, but under the circumstances it seems advisable.