OT Work question

Old 01-10-2013, 12:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
A jug fills drop by drop

Question OT Work question

Sorry to keep posting unrelated stuff

So I was in this meeting with a huge manager and he asked me what I thought about our team's documentation.

Reality: it sucks, its outdated and my manager offers no help. My coworkers watch videos 80% of the time they spend in the office. We are in IT so I know my coworkers prefer to troubleshoot and solve problems, documentation is seen as boring and it requires less skill, so they ignore it.

I have had some gut feelings about stuff they leave to me and I have felt as a secretary passing messages and doing the work others won't do, that takes a lot of more time and is not as "interesting".

But all of the characters were at the same meeting.

I got a mental conflict and did not know what to answer. "It's fine" would have been a lie. I am not good at lying.

So there was just a weird silence and the meeting moved on.

Shall I "let it pass"? I kind of feel I lost face and perhaps the others thought I did not understand the question.

I hate office politics.

Any advice is welcome...
Old 01-10-2013, 12:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Could you ask for a private meeting?
Old 01-10-2013, 01:10 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A jug fills drop by drop

I don't think I can. This huge manager is on our customer's side. He is not part of the company I work for. He is the manager of the manager of the manager, a VIP...

I talked to one of my nice coworkers and he said this manager is approachable though and has heard internal stuff from other people with a good attitude.

Maybe I just email him...?

I am not sure as I would be opening a can of worms.

My own manager is leaving soon for India and we are not sure he will come back to work with this team. My coworker things he no longer matters and I can be honest with the client & explain the reason I hesitated.

Ugh.
Old 01-10-2013, 01:11 PM
  # 4 (permalink)