Notices

Pain management and addiction

Old 10-17-2012, 01:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Pain management and addiction

Hi. I am new to this and am really not sure where to start as I am NOT in recovery as of yet, but am on the verge of cold turkey out of desperation. I am currently a pain management patient and have been since October 2010 following spinal fusion to prevent paralysis from the C-5 and C-6 level. A bit of my history: I was in a very bad car wreck at the age of 15 that ended up rupturing my spleen. That was the only immediate injury. That was in 1990. Fast forward to 2002 when I started having migraines and very painful cracking and grinding knees. I went to a chiropractor for the headaches and basically just lived with the knee pain. After about 5 years of chiropractic care it was apparent that I was not getting help with the migraines that seemed to show up in September and stay till February like clockwork every year and each one lasted up to 2 weeks with at most 3 days of relief in between.