Notices

Trying to get off of Suboxone

Old 08-26-2012, 06:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to get off of Suboxone

Hi~

I am new here and I have been abusing vicodin for about 2 years, taking up to 7 a day by the end of it. I went on suboxone last October and now I want to get off of it. It's too expensive and the dr I am seeing is NOT helping. I think she is just pushing the stuff. I have run out of it and I had to get some vicodin on Friday to help with the withdrawls . I was taking 3-5 2mg a day of suboxone but really started to taper off last week since I ran out of my subscription and my dr is not back from vaca until 9.11, but I want to stop seeing her.

Anyway, I wanted to know how people have kicked suboxone. I really felt withdrawls on Friday. It was not fun. Just like reading what people have posted, the no energy, hot/cold feelings, anxiety etc. Mornings are the worst feeling EVER!!! I just don't want to get out of bed.

I think I am going to start taking more vitamins and uping my vitamin D too. Also, should I stop with the vicodin too?!?! It is helping with the withdrawls but that will run out soon as I only have 20 and I am taking 3 a day.

I just want my life back!!!!

~Jennifer
Old 08-27-2012, 06:34 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Resident Alien

Greetings & welcome to SR! A great first step, and congrats on your desire to be sober! You will find lots of great support here.

I dunno... am I correct in that you mean you were taking 6-10mg/day suboxone before you jumped? Suboxone has a very long half-life (2-3 days). I was down to 1mg/day for several months before I kicked and it was still tough.

Taking opiates (vicodin) to avoid opiate withdrawal is not gonna work. You are prolonging the inevitable. That's how we all ended up in that wicked cycle, right?