Notices

Hit the Bottom

Old 08-08-2012, 05:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hit the Bottom

Hi, everyone! I've been drinking for 20 years. I don't do it day by day, but when I do drink, I drink to the point that I'm like being possessed by a demon. I'd flirt with all women I can find online; I'd lie my ass off to impress others. I was arrested for drinking in public last Novemember. I thought I learnt my lesson, so did my wife. But I still keep drinking secretly. Last night, she found me drinking vodka. This may be the last straw that breaks the camel's back.

I have a good life, driving good cars and living in a decent house. When not drinking, I consder myself a good person: loving my wife all the ways I can; treating everyone fairly and with respect; a law-abiding, tax-paying citizen... My wife loves me so, so much that she forgave me for so many times. Now I finally failed her.

Can my life go any lower? I wonder. I know I can quit drinking for good, cuz I feel I've hit my bottom. But I've lost all my credit with my wife, my family. Maybe I deserve to die.

Thanks for reading. Dunno what else to do but take it out.
Old 08-08-2012, 05:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi arhat

One thing I found is I could always go lower...I didn't have a criminal record, I was never homeless....but my soul was dead, and getting deader....

I think a better definition of hitting bottom is that point when we decide it's time for a change.

Sounds like you're there - you'll find a lot of encouragement and understanding here

Welcome!
D
Old 08-08-2012, 05:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, Dee. How true it is that when looking inside, the soul is dead and deader. I wonder if there're any success stories here that the sinner finally win his/her family back. I'm eager to read those stories and find the strengh to ask for another chance. Many thanks for doing such a meaningful job helping desperate alcholics like me.
Old 08-08-2012, 05:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator