feeling left out

Old 01-10-2004, 10:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Unhappy feeling left out

Hi, I am also new to this. My name is Laura. I'll try to make a long story short. I am currently involved with a A.A member, we have been living together for over a yr now and engaged. I knew from the get go that my B/F was an Alcoholic, thank heavens he is sober for 1 yr & 11 months. I really convienced myself that I could be patient and try to understand him. Everything had been going pretty good, a few ups and downs as to be expected, but generally we was happy. He started to go fewer times to meetings to spend more time on us. That last for a little while, but then being a avid hunter, meetings was replaced with hunting and our time, with meetings. Being in a new relationship, and truely loving the man, I want to spend all my time that I can with him. I, by the way, am not an alcoholic. Recently we have had some diffficult times, with hollidays and each others kids. I took a toll on our relationship. Last week, he tells me that he has got to stop and go back to work on himself in order to be anything to me, this I understand to an extent. What I don't understand is why can there not be "our" time also? Does he have to go every single night to a meeting? Am I being selfish in wanting to be with him? It had gotten to the point that weee both, not at the same time, agreed that he couldn't give me what I needed and that he had to go work on him first, he wanted to stay living with me, but sorta put me to the side for a while, then someday, whenever that will be, he may have time for me. When we talked about it, I told him I wanted him to do whatever it took to make himself better, even if it meant me letting him go to do so. We talked about him moving out and being on his own. I told him that if he did, I wanted him to be happy and that I understood if he moved on without me, his reply " Between, working, hunting and my Son, I have no time for anyone else. Please help me