Notices

Sober Until Tonight... but is it bad?

Old 07-20-2012, 09:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
dig

Sober Until Tonight... but is it bad?

I officially committed to straightening myself out on July 7 and the last two weeks have been great. I did buy some booze tonight. I had what I would call an "intense" craving to enjoy a few drinks on a Friday night. I didnt buy a huge bottle to be safe.

But it got me thinking, what if this all-or-nothing approach isnt for me? I do not have problem drinkers around me. Once or twice a year I have "events" whereby friends/family are together and the atmosphere leads to drinking what I know is considered heavy. I dont ever want to be drinking at the level I was before... but as an adult, if I get months or years into this, is there a line of thought that I'm sober but able to have a drink or two here and there?

I doubt it but thought I'd ask. I'm new to this but would like feedback.

My biggest reason for asking - I had a few drinks tonight, nothing eventful and I'm kicking myself around thinking I failed, I'm no good, I cant do this, etc. -- and really... is that fair to say?

Old 07-20-2012, 09:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Powerless over Alcohol

Well you know you best.

I say just ask yourself does it interfere with things, do you have consequences. Me after decades of having fun it turned out I needed it every day to function. First thing I thought about when my eyes opened. I planned everything and everywhere I went according to the drink.
Old 07-20-2012, 09:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Well ...I havent been sober long enough to give you any advice on this..But as for me if I took the gamble and had one drink I would lose...I asked myself the same question a long time ago and my drinking steadily progressed ..If you are having to ask this I would say just give it up for good..
Old 07-20-2012, 09:40 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You are in doubt whether you could handle this or not.....

If in doubt go without!
Old 07-20-2012, 09:42 PM