Notices

struggling day to day

Old 01-28-2012, 12:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

struggling day to day

Hello all my name is Ryan and I'm new to SR. I am 29 years old and have a beautiful wife and family. Ilook back now and realize I've always had something in my life I was addicted to at some point or another, whether it was cigarettes or booze or Meth or coke. I would jump from one habit to the next thinking I was tackling these addictions one by one. I didn't ever want to take pills BC I had a friends mom die when I was young from painkillers so I wouldn't take them I even looked down on my friends that did. It wasn't til 2 years ago Nov20 2009 when my world got flipped upside down. Igot in an accident driving drunk.I hurt my friend and also broke my back in 3 places. I tried to recover with little pain medication. It was impossible I hurt every time I moved. I started taking lortabs to ease the pain and with my past history of addiction and abuse my tolerance for any drug was like out of this world. So I was at. A friends one night and he asked if I needed a roxi. I said sure maybe it will help I took a 15 mg and got so sick I puked. But after I didn't feel my back pain so I went to my Dr and told him I found something that helped. He gave me 6 30mg per day I was so happy. That was 2 years ago and I've never in my life had something have complete control over me like this. I didn't tell my family for a long time and most of my friends don't know. I've spent everything I have earned in the last few years on them. I still go to the Dr every 6 weeks and I run out of medicine by week 4. I only get 5 1/2 prescribed to me now BC my Dr. Wanted to see ssome progress I am at a point in my life where I can't do anything without my medicine I know its inevitable eventually I will have to quit. I am so scared of that day. I recently told my wife how bad I have gotten she thought I was only taking lortabs. She researched the drug and sobbed as she read the results. I am current