Notices

tried being sober many times ,failed this year

Old 10-23-2011, 12:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

tried being sober many times ,failed this year

hello everyone,
i am 22 years old student, and i have been drinking for last three years( first year was very ocassional but gradually increased and at these times it is closer to an alcoholic )
my problem i have to drink every night and almost 4 times a week . i have this urge always after 7 in the evening.i am not able to control this urge. i have tried many of deciding a date to end but never got past 7-10 days of sobriety.
MY problems are my circle that keep on contacting me for a drinking session in a couple of days and its seems difficult to say no , as i am used to the quality time with them. but i want to leave it and fight the urge.so guys please help me selectively fight this urge
1) how to control the urge during evening time until the shop closes (i have tried the method of eating heavy which reduces the urge which works each day randomly )
2) how to give up on friends as they are only linked through alcohol and if i leave alchohol ,i leave them.
i seriously need your help guys, as i want to accomplish something in the near future and its becoming a serious hindrance towards that .

thank you for reading till here !!
Old 10-23-2011, 12:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

It's hard to stop drinking but you can do it.

My advice is to change your routine, so at 7pm you are doing something different than usual. Go out for a long walk, go to a movie, call a friend, anything to take your mind off drinking for a few minutes. I know many of us have had to make the decision to leave drinking friends behind. It's hard to do, but to make recovery work, a lot of changes are needed.
Old 10-23-2011, 01:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome amit0861