Notices

very scared!!

Old 05-26-2011, 10:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

very scared!!

i have been drinking for 22 years....and im only 36 i knew for sure that i was a drunk about 9 years ago. did i do anything about it? nope! it was until i started blacking out and asking my friends what i did while i was liquored up. im on this site because i want and need to stop drinking. i dont have support around me and i have a big family, but i feel so lonely. its been 2 weeks since i had my last drink. i had no idea what withdrawals were going to be like! im moody, i cant sleep, i want to cry all the time, and all i want to do is drink it away....thats what i always did before....any suggestions? i dont know if im ready for a meeting yet.
Old 05-26-2011, 10:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome, hopeful! Glad you're reaching out for support (I know it's hard to do, but you'll be so glad you did!) We all know what those first days and weeks are like, and the insomnia and mood swings are normal.

The good news is that things will get better. Be patient with yourself. You're making a huge change.

Drinking will only make things worse, even though the addicted brain tells us otherwise. Hang in there - we're behind you!
Old 05-26-2011, 10:32 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hey, welcome!

Your support may have to come from strangers. That's where I had to go - AA. I haven't said a word to my family (accept my DH) as I don't believe they would be very supportive and I don't need the questions right now. I'm way to fragile.

You can go to your doctor also and get some meds (if you haven't) for the mood swings and lack of sleep. It might help you to feel stable enough to go to an AA meeting as well. I know for me the first meeting was very emotional but the minute I walked in the room everyone knew what I was going through as they had been there too. I finally felt like I was safe to be completely honest.