Is my husband abusing painkillers?

Old 03-30-2011, 01:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is my husband abusing painkillers?

Hello,
I'm new to this and would appreciate some help. I've always known my husband had issues with pot but recently his behavior has started to sprial out of control. He's run into trouble at work, been fired, I've found out he stole money from his employer and he's lost weight, has a frequent runny nose and cough, he lies constantly and tries to hide things constantly. He experienced a back injury a few years ago. At the time he did not (to my knowledge) take the prescription for painkillers that his doc gave him. So this is why I suspect he's abusing pain killers. I've plain out asked him if he is using prescription drugs and he denies it. He does however admit that he has a problem with the pot and has sought out a treatment program for this. I still just feel there is something more. The above symptoms could be other things but I can't shake this feeling that it's more. Please share how you found out your loved one was using these types of things and what signs I should look for other than the above listed things! Thank you for your help!!
Old 03-30-2011, 01:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome candyshoppe!! Trust your girl intuition... If something seems wrong, there probably is something wrong!! With my expierence ...Pot does not cause a person to loose weight, if anything you gain weight from the munchies. Pot does not cause a runny nose either. Yes, it can cause a cough though. BUT it sounds like there is much more to it than smoking a few joints.
My situation is with my 20yr old son..He denied using drugs over and over, I finally said OK prove it and I gave him a drug test. Well he failed miserably so there was no denying that. He has been abusing drugs for over 2 years now and it's been a mess!!

This is a great place to get advice!!!
Good Luck!!!
Old 03-30-2011, 02:26 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Candyshoppe,