Notices

Crying Buckets

Old 03-08-2011, 05:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Crying Buckets

This is my first time to post too! I am 18 days into recovery with the help of doctor and medications (Librium first, then Cambral and Naltrexone) as an outpatient. It's unbelievable how emotional I have become over the smallest things, but particularly when talking about my addiction with those I love. I have had numerous "field" tests and haven't had a drink. I am worried about my memory and how I am coming across to others when I talk or write. I have been hiding my problem almost 20 years and of course have used alcohol more and more with each year. I didnt do such a good job of hiding it over the last few years though. My husband is not particular supportive, showing really no sympathy at all, no emotion at all towards me. I guess I killed that with my drinking. I just get attitude from him with "what's your point?", "I told you yesterday (sigh)", "you don't remember" etc. I am pretty lonely even when he's around; he pretty much ignores me.
I am not sure that AA meetings are for me. Do I really have to get up and say, my name is ____and I am an alcoholic? Do I have to have a sponsor before I go? I would just like to meet a few people, learn how they overcame their issues and get some support.
Old 03-08-2011, 05:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Om, Aum, Ohm...

No, you don't have to have a sponsor before you go, and no one has to get up and say anything. Go, grab a cup of coffee, and listen. It's likely that the chair will ask if there are any newcomers present and give you an opportunity to introduce yourself, but you don't have to if you don't want to.

Peace & Love,
Sugah
Old 03-08-2011, 05:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome!

Good for you for having 18 sober days, and your mood swings are pretty normal early on.

I don't use AA, but others can give you advice about that. And, there is always support here at SR.
Old 03-08-2011, 05:54 PM
  # 4 (permalink)