Notices

Addiction replacing Addiction

Old 01-07-2011, 05:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool Addiction replacing Addiction

As I near 2 weeks sober, I have realized that I become addict to things so quickly whether it's alcohol/drugs, a tv show, a hobby, and even a person. Has anyone else noticed the addiction replacement in their life? Something you need to do each day because without it you would simply go insane??

I've noticed that I've been facebook stalking my recent ex-boyfriend which is something that I've never done before and almost obsessing. Not in my nature at all to do especially since he is still one of my really good and trusted friends and I realized that I need to get off this computer more often and get out in the world because I am just replacing 1 unhealthy thing with another.

Just wondering if any else experienced this bad habit replacing bad habit?

Old 01-07-2011, 05:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Su**endering...

Maybe try reading step 4 in the AA Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions book. It may give you some insight into what drives your search to fill that hole inside with one thing or another or lots of things at once.

It was an eye-opener for me. It is available in .pdf on the web, if you don't have the actual book.
Old 01-07-2011, 05:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

ME! ME! I go from one to another! Thats why I am getting into AA and counceling. I want this to be it
Old 01-07-2011, 07:01 AM
  # 4 (permalink)