Grateful for my job

Old 12-17-2010, 10:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Yankee

Grateful for my job

I am here at work (on lunch break) and I had a flashback to my other jobs in the past. I have worked for a major bank, the major newspaper and also a credit card company. All in customer service. Do you know how hard it is to concentrate and talk to people about their issues on the phone when you have so many of your own issues? I can remember countless times calling in sick, being depressed because I just could not stand being at work, maing up excuses, lying about why I was not coming in. Due to my exab and brother/alco/addict I was barely breathing, barely alive. For the last 2 1/2 years I have a job where I work in a steel shop. I'm an admin asst and have my own office. I am the only woman here. Everyone is always playing pranks on each other and it is such a fun environment. I have freedom. So now when I am struggling or having a bad day, I dont call in sick, at all! I am so grateful that my job puts food on the table for my Son and I, pays my bills and gives me peace of mind. Tis the season to be grateful...
Old 12-18-2010, 05:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm on board with that too. I love my job. It is perfect for me. And in this economy, i know that is quite a thing to be grateful about!
Old 12-18-2010, 06:01 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
aka Miss Scarlett O'Hara

What a great thread. I definitely know the importance of loving your job! I'm so glad that your job is a place you enjoy being and where you can feel at peace!

This is the time of year for being grateful for what we DO have. So I thought I would share too, that I am SO grateful for my family. They have taught me how to be strong and independent. They are quietly in the background of my life, allowing me to live it the way I see fit, but there for me if ever I should take a tumble. Their quiet support is amazingly powerful, and I am sooo grateful to have been blessed with such a wonderful, amazing family.