Notices

New and struggling

Old 09-22-2010, 02:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question New and struggling

Hi ya'll. I'm new to this forum and still pretty new to sobriety....I have 66 days which seems like an eternity. I am working AA and have a sponsor and the whole nine yards, but unfortunately I feel like I don't have a lot of time to concentrate on my sobriety. I have a hard time fitting in meetings and I felt a LOT better when I was going to meetings. These days, I find myself stressed out and wanting to drink or p!ssed off and wanting to drink and I really believe I have only stayed sober because I'm stubborn.

Does anyone have advice on how to stay sober and work the 12 steps without being able to make more than 1-2 meetings a week (I talk to my sponsor a few times a week and usually meet with her once a week too)? I literally do not have the time...I am a law student and a single mom so when I'm not in class or studying I have my kid. I still get bad cravings and feel like managing my stress and emotions is hard without alcohol.

Also, I'm in a somewhat new relationship with a guy who is also sober and also in AA (no, we didn't meet in a meeting). I know the whole "suggestion" not to start a relationship in the first year of sobriety, but it is what it is and ending a good relationship seems counter-productive. That being said, I struggle with having a sober relationship because I have always handled relationships (sex, conversing, having fun, dealing with issues) by drinking. In sobriety, I feel like I have a really hard time communicating without being angry/needy/etc.

Thanks in advance....I hope this forum is supportive and I look forward to supporting others too.
Old 09-22-2010, 02:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation