angry at his relapse

Old 03-30-2009, 08:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

angry at his relapse

so i'm new to this...i've been with my fiance for almost 5 years. he is a dope addict...it started with pain pills and progressed... i didnt know it was more than pills till december... on new years eve he went to detox and was clean till yesterday when he relapsed... i left him my debit card because i didn't have time to go to the bank before work and he took money and relapsed.... i knew something was up when he said he needed to talk when i got home... when i got home around midnight he was high and a mess.... he was honest with me, told me he f'd up and was sorry.... he sat there and cried to me and all i could do was be mad... why am i so mad... i know why i'm mad... but how do i deal with this... how do i help him, but not enable him... need some advice...
Old 03-30-2009, 08:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Ally

others will be around soon with helpful words of wisdom in the meantime

Welcome to SR, sorry you are going thru this.
You might want to read the stickys that are at the top of each of the forums.
Old 03-30-2009, 08:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

So what has he had in place for a program of recovery since he went to detox?

Also, since he's an adult, why is it your job to help him?

Is he working and helping with expenses?
Old 03-30-2009, 08:57 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

he's not working... he's in sparc... he goes to group 3 times a week and he's in a suboxone program... he says they tell him he needs to focus on himself before he starts to take on a job, etc. he's been working on our house...doing remodeling etc.
Old 03-30-2009, 09:07 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I'd suggest you set some boundaries of what is and isn't acceptable to you, and what are the consequences if he steps across those boundaries. It doesn't sound to me like he's too serious about staying clean with group support, suboxone, and he still chose to use.

What do you want for yourself out of life?