Notices

Newbie here and rehab advice needed

Old 03-09-2009, 07:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here and rehab advice needed

Hi Everyone!
I come to this forum as a concerned family member. I apologize in advance if I’m posting in the wrong place. Here is some background info. My 24 year old brother had been using cocaine/crack for 5 years until June/08. At that point he was admitted into rehab and successfully completed his program.

I found out earlier today that he had relapsed and has been using for a couple weeks. I think the best course of action would be for him to immediately return to some kind of impatient treatment program. Am I on the right track?

So I guess my question for everyone would be if you could recommend the best possible inpatient drug treatment facility in North America? (we are from Canada but willing to send him anywhere).

I’ve done some research and I’ve come up with Betty Ford, Caron and Hazelden. Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

Your help is very much appreciated.
Chantelle
Old 03-09-2009, 07:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober

My first question would be...Does he want to go?
Does he want help and is he really ready?

If the answer to those questions are yes. Then I would suggest finding one that he is comfortable with. Because after all..He is the one who is going. I am not sure which would be best without knowing any detaiks about him or his use.
But in my opinion...I would take the nearest and fastest one. But that is just me.

Good Luck and welcome
Old 03-09-2009, 07:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Does he want to go? You can't force sobriety on him.

I'm sure others will be on to talk about rehabs.

Welcome to SR.
Old 03-09-2009, 07:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

He is willing to go.
Old 03-09-2009, 07:46 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober

There is a difference between willing and wanting.
But none the less. Willing is better than not.