What should I/could I have done?

Old 02-17-2009, 06:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What should I/could I have done?

Valentine's Day started out quite well...we went away for an overnight. But his drinking started around 2:00pm and it continued throughout the day. I didn't say anything, but felt sad that he can't seem to enjoy a day off or being with me without a beer. After dinner that night, I finally couldn't stop myself from saying anything. He just kept ordering beers. He got that pained look on his face that he gets when he drinks too much. I finally said something. I am new to recovery and didn't know what to do. I didn't lose my temper though, but was very angry inside. To his credit, he stopped drinking and left a nearly full beer on the table. We left to go back to the hotel, he fell down, hurt his leg quite badly, and the rest of the evening was ruined.

The next day we tried to talk about it, he apologized and felt bad...he said that when he has a day off, he tries too hard to relax. Now he keeps saying that he ruined our trip. He hasn't been on one of these bad benders in awhile - he does so good for so long, then this happens.

I don't know how to control the rage I felt building all that day. I wanted so badly to just start yelling at him. I'm afraid I've turned it inside back on me, my anxiety has been through the roof. I am still very angry with him.

I don't know what is the best thing to do or what I should have done while this was going on. I totally don't understand boundaries in this situation - do I refuse to go anywhere with him if there's booze? Do I get up and leave when he's had too much?

But I guess I am starting to understand how "baffling" this thing is - I don't know what to do. Help.
Old 02-17-2009, 07:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Marigolds,