Notices

Parent of Addict appreciates any help

Old 07-19-2008, 01:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Parent of Addict appreciates any help

I am new to this: my 17 yr old son has been "partying" since the beginning of last summer (07). I (a single mom) found out about it when I suspected something was up b/c of his behavior changes & tested him with a home test from Walgreens. Pot came up positive. Then after I had my son talk to my cousin (a recovering addict & sponsor in the AA & CA programs) he confessed to me to abusing alcohol & other things like "skittles" (taking lots of Coricidin brand anthihistamine)! I had already taken him to his dr to test for diabetes b/c of the similar symptoms! (hunger, sleeping, fatigue, thirst) After finding out about his partying I started taking him to a psychiatrist who helped him w/ his anger & to church more often. He became close to my cousin & he really helped my son. But then during spring break in March Zac's behavior got worse in that he became cold (we have always been really close) so I suspected abuse again. I searched his room & found hard liquor hidden. I forget how, but my son also confessed to now using cocaine! My son started attending a local Pass It On club (AA) & really liked it & made new friends & a sponsor. He has been saying he's 3 mths clean, but I don't believe it b/c he's had some more, although less frequent, bizarre behavior. Including not going to AA anymore! And smoking cigarettes & saying that b/c he doesn't abuse anymore he HAS to do SOMETHING to replace drugs & alcohol, etc. (I know that's a load of bull.) He also had a huge rage fit when I told his girlfriend I found the cigarettes (I figured my son only cares about what she thinks & feels now so that was my way of getting thru to him!) My son punched holes in closet doors at home before...before I knew the extent of his abuse. This rage fit he punched another hole & threatened to do cocaine & threw furniture around. I took my 9 yr old son & went