Asking for your thoughts for strength

Old 04-18-2008, 11:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Asking for your thoughts for strength

Tonight we (Me and AH) are going to finally talk to our 10-yr-old dd about getting a divorce. I am exhausted and very sad. I've spent 10 years trying to figure out how to live with an alcoholic- active as well as bitterly "recovering." Over the past 8 months that we've been separated I've come to realize I just cannot do it. I know I deserve better. For years I tried to adjust, accommodate, and understand the insanity- and in the process I was becoming someone I didn't like. I hate alcoholism- and yet, I am finding that because of it, I am discovering some things about myself that I need to work on. I'm also finding strength in myself that I never knew I had. I am just beginning to see a glimmer of how my life can be. I just need to get through this very hard stuff first. Thanks to all of you whose stories I've read and who have responded to my threads, I am learning more about myself and you- and I'm eternally grateful. I just want to be good to myself- to be good to my dd and to finally live a peaceful life. I knew if I stayed with AH I would never find that. It's bitter/sweet- I hope to eventually experience more of the sweet. . .and I hope that for all of you who are struggling along with me.
(((((Thank you))))):ghug2
Old 04-18-2008, 11:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I know this will be very difficult but you will get thru it. And your daughter will react. But she also will get thru it. Children are amazingly adaptive. {hugs}
Old 04-18-2008, 12:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
hbb
Live, Laugh, Love

(((Paj))) i'll be thinking of you tonight. I"m sure it will be difficult but hopefully your AH will help in making things go as smooth as they can. And your right, you DO deserve better and sounds like you've put in so much love and effort to keep things together. Big hugs to you and your dd.

Old 04-18-2008, 12:11 PM
  # 4 (permalink)