Notices

Counselor told me to continue to drink for now

Old 10-01-2007, 03:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Counselor told me to continue to drink for now

After decades of heavy drinking, I finally took the first step and saw an addiction counselor.

When I told him how much I've been drinking lately, he said that his first thought was to have me check into a hospital so that they could monitor me. I'm self employed, though, and work is already unsteady. So that's not an option.

He suggested that I continue to drink, although he suggested I drink half or less than what I have been, until I talk to my doctor about medication.

Has anyone else received this sort of advice?

Also, I've been taking Valium for several years to treat anxiety. I've read that Valium can be used to treat withdrawal symptoms and possible seizures. Has anyone else used Valium for this?

This is my first time with all this, so I appreciate any feedback.
Old 10-01-2007, 03:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'd go get a second opinion. If you had the ability to drink half or less than you usually do, you wouldn't need a counselor.
Old 10-01-2007, 03:57 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

i had pill for every ill and i was sick alot.
Old 10-01-2007, 03:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Hi Fitz - I was told by the people in the detox hospital, when I finally went, I should NEVER have tried to get off it alone after my decades of heavy drinking. They said I could've had a stroke, heart attack, or seizure from the sudden withdrawal. (Sorry to be repetitious - I just said this in another post today...) It's hard doing this without medical coverage. I had it at the time I went to detox, and BlueCross said I had to leave after only 3 days!! (To keep the cost down.) At least I got to go and get "some" help, though it was a bit lame. Best wishes to you, Fitz
Old 10-01-2007, 04:25 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator