Notices

Dating

Old 08-04-2007, 10:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dating

So I'm still really new to sobriety. I remember hearing that you're not supposed to start dating until 3 months(?) sobriety...

A really nice guy at work just asked me out today. Is it okay to go?
Old 08-04-2007, 10:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
same planet...different world

wow. now there's something you don't see everyday...

I dunno ... is he cute? rich? sober? tall?

LOL
Old 08-04-2007, 10:51 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

lol. he's not rich..or tall...or sober...but he's not an alcoholic (I do know this). He asked me out to go see a movie. He is very cute however...in more than just the physical way. He asked to go see a movie. Which has always been a sober event for me. This is hard...when I was drinking most of my "relationships" have always been more of the middle of the night relationships. Yikes...yet that is the truth.

I'm still a 20 something...so I'm really confused. He is kind heart, I do know that much.
Old 08-04-2007, 10:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Belgian Sheepdog Adictee

Actually...........................the general rule is:

"No major changes the first year."

And yes that includes dating. Why? Because the first year of recovery is so intense and our emotions and feelings are RAW. Our brains are working their way out of the fog and mush and really our thinking IS LOUSY. lol

And besides why would you go out with someone you work with, not a very good idea. The old adage of "Do not mix BUSINESS with PLEASURE" is so so true. That's a trap that even with my long time sobriety I would not step into.

J M H O

Please keep posting and let us know how you are doing, we do care.

Love and hugs,
Old 08-04-2007, 11:09 PM
  # 5 (permalink)