Notices

At the end of the rope and looking for some advice

Old 06-01-2007, 09:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Location: Fedup With This Vicious Cycle and Am Doing Something About It
Unhappy At the end of the rope and looking for some advice

Hi Everyone...
Another lost and lonely newbie here looking for some advice. I am currently waiting for the counselor at a treatment center to call me back to continue the admission process for an inpatient alcohol program. Not really sure if this particular facility is good or not but I needed to start somewhere. I am a stay at home mom to 2 young girls, one with a disibility. Life has taken some major major turns this year and I can't seem to let off the alcohol(drink 5 nights a week with an average of 6 drinks per night) which has lead me into some major major depression taking a toll on not only me, but my family. My life has spiraled down hill at a very fast pace and I am deathly scared that I am going to lose everything I have. I have thought long and hard about AA meetings but don't think that will be the right route. There are some underlying issues to my addiction and I am hoping that 30-60 days of inpatient treatment with counseling will be the right thing for me(crossing fingers). I have wanted to do this for a few months now but an incident that has recently happened pretty much put me over the edge. This paragraph is only the tip of the iceberg but my kiddos are hungry little girls so I am a little distracted. lol
So, do any of you have advice on treatment centers? Should I go further away or closer to home? Do I need a Dr's referral for insurance purposes? The one I have checked into is in MN and I am hoping this is a good facility.

Thanks so much for reading and any advice you have.
I have to go and make lunch for my kiddos and will be back soon.
Old 06-01-2007, 09:23 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober

Hi AJ..Glad you are here.
I cant give advice on the inpatient thing.