Detachment

Old 01-27-2007, 06:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Detachment

What exactly does it mean to detach from an alcoholic? How does one go about this when they are in love with an alcoholic and living with them? How do you detach when you have needs as well?
Old 01-27-2007, 06:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Streamjax....I am glad you have found SR !

I am still new to this , but detachment , as I understand it , is separating yourself from the adverse effects of someone's drinking or other addiction. It lets us "let go" of our obsession with the A's behavior. You don't necessarily need to leave the situation physically, but some do.

You learn to not let the actions/reactions of the A effect you like they have.
You don't do for the A things that he/she can do for themselves. (Hard one for me). You realize that all the nagging in the world will not make them quit, they have control over themselves, you have control over you.

There will be others along later with much more insight for you.

Hope to get to know you better.........
Old 01-27-2007, 06:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks, obviously I'm currently in a relationship with an alcoholic and have just started attending Alanon meetings recently. I've heard the mentioning of detachment and read a little bit about it online.

What I read said you were to emotionally detach from the alcoholic. How do you emotionally detach from someone you're in love with? I think it was referring to detaching from letting their actions bother you and realizing that they have a disease. How do you do this when thier actions directly affect you though.

For example, I've learned in Alanon meetings to stop talking about his drinking and to stop yelling at him the day after he gets wasted.

I tried that and succeeded. Then he got drunk and brought home a homeless guy and passed out in his van leaving this complete stranger in my house with me. The homeless guy hit on me and I told him to get out of my house.