closet drinker

Old 10-07-2006, 12:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

closet drinker

Hi I am new to this great web site. I would appreciate any advice on this situation.
my husband had drank for years but quit before we met. We have been married for14 years and as far as I know he has not relapsed. now his behavior is strange..accusing me of all sorts of things--affairs etc. His dress actually has improved..So I thought he was having the affair
I have ruled out an affair--PI, but smelt strong alcohol, not beer/wine on his breath. he has not gone to any bars. I can't find any bottles in my house or garage? Anyone with experience with this?
Thanks
Old 10-07-2006, 01:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
cmc

Hello hazard,
Welcome to SR, this is the right place for your questions.
Please take a look at the sticky's at the top of the page as there is alot of information there for you that is extremely helpful.
Trying to hide is quite common, and my son often hid his drug use from us- and was often very successful at it.
We have so many wonderful people here on this forum, especially- who will come along and share their own stories and ideas. You don't have to face this alone.
I am so glad that you found us!
cmc
Old 10-07-2006, 01:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
When Pigs Fly

my husband is a closet drinker. I found bottles behind places he thought I didn't clean. Another weird place is in the toliet tank. I even found them in a old PC and even old suitcases in the garage. The last place I found it was in his car. I know how you are feeling. Knowing but not really knowing. When I finally realized he had a problem it was way to late for us. I'm glad you are here. There are alot of great people here.
Old 10-07-2006, 01:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

hazard624 : Welcome!!! So glad you have found us!!!

Lots of people are good at hiding their drinking ...for a while.

I hope you will stick around with us; read and post.
Old 10-07-2006, 02:00 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

closet drinker

Thanks for the welcome