Notices

The man in the hole

Old 02-13-2003, 05:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The man in the hole

I'm not very good at telling stories,but I heard this one in AA a few years ago.

I only remembered it today when someone asked me why AA worked for me.

A drunk was walking home one night when he fell into a deep hole in the ground and after struggling for many hours was unable to climb out.

Eventually he decided to settle down for the night and wait until morning.

The next morning a man appeared and asked what he was doing in the hole.

"Well I've fallen in and I can't get out.Could you help me please?"

"Of course." replied the man,tossing a book down to him."Here is a Bible,read it and you will be able to climb out."

Then he continued on his way.

Eventually a second man appeared also wanting to know what he was doing in the hole.

"Well I've fallen in and I can't get out.Could you help me please?"

"Why,certainly!"Declared the man,throwing a length of rope to him "This will surely help you."

And he too continued on about his business.

Finally evening came.A man on his way to an AA meeting passed and saw our friend tired hungry and still in the hole.

"I've fallen in and I cant get out."cried the man one last time."Could you help me please".

At which point the man promptly jumped down in the hole beside him.

"Come my friend," he said."We'll climb out together."

Peter.
Old 02-13-2003, 05:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Peter

Great story, That realy tells it the way its been for me.

Thanks
Old 08-27-2005, 06:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Dan

Old 08-27-2005, 07:15 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Not the center of the Universe

I've also heard an alternate ending:

At which point the man promptly jumped down in the hole beside him.

The man cried "What the H%$^ did you do that for! Now we are both down here."

The A.A. member replied simply "I know the way out."
Old 09-01-2005, 06:14 AM
  # 5 (permalink)