Notices

Hi. I'm a newbie and on day 3

Old 05-20-2005, 05:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Hi. I'm a newbie and on day 3

Hi everyone. I made the decision to stop 3 days ago. I've always liked a drink, but since having 2 kids a few years ago, I deveoped an anxiety disorder and drank to cope with that. I didn't realise I was making it worse until too late.

For the past 3/4 years I have drank up to around 16 units day, and am now going cold turkey (on the advice of a Doctor.) I'm not doing too bad but can really empathise with people who say "what will I do now?"
Old 05-20-2005, 06:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
You're never alone!!

Crongrat on day 3!!! That is great, and keep in mind, it will get easier. You have made a giant step just admitting you need help. Coming here to SR is a great thing. I feel so fortunate to have found this site. Wonderul people who share great help.. Please keep posting, and like I said before, great job on day 3!!! Love, Becky
Old 05-20-2005, 06:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hello and Welcome!

Congratulations! SR is a great support and full of information.

Do stay around...read the post and ask questions.

And What now? I use AA as my recovery method.
It is easier to stay quit with F2F support.

Blessings to you and your family..
Old 05-20-2005, 06:46 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

((((((((NewLife))))))))))
I used to wonder how I would fill my time if I ever quit drinking. Today there is not enough time in the day as I have found the Joy of Living.

Welcome to SR and I ditto what Carol has said.

3 Legacy
Old 05-20-2005, 07:21 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi new life, congratulations on your 3 days, sobriety is the best thing i ever did, it was either that or god knows what! I've been clean for 3 and a half years now and am 29.