Notices

Hiyas and New Here

Old 09-04-2015, 05:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hiyas and New Here

Greetings,

I stumbled onto this site recently through the internet searching means of trying to determine where my alcohol usage stands and how much of a problem is it? After looking through quite a few posts, I've seen a few people post here who have a similar situation as mine and with similar questions, so I thought I would share my saga.

Short Version History:

I've been drinking alcohol for close to 30 years. I have never drank on a daily basis, nor have I done that several day binge thing. But, when I drink, I like to drink... typically 8 to 10 beers (sometimes more) on average in one nightly sitting (this amount is where I ended up compared to 5 plus years ago when it was at least 1/2 of that amount). My drinking has typically been a planned event based on whatever is going on during the week. So a Friday or Saturday night would be a given since there is no work on the next day, plus throw in work time-off days, holidays, vacation weeks here and there and all of that averages out to 2 nights maybe 3 a week of heavy drinking. I don't suffer from depression, anxiety or insomnia. My alcohol drinking has been used or personally justified for the "fun" aspect or what I perceived it as being. For me, I didn't use the "I've had a <fill in the blank> day and I need a drink" justification to drink. I haven't lost any jobs, relationships, encountered law violations (DUI, etc.) due to alcholo. I don't drink the next day when hung-over (the though of that is repulsive to me), but in the last couple of years, my GF who only drinks now and then has started telling me that she thinks I might have a drinking problem. Me? What? How? I don't drink everyday. I don't hide how much I drink or when I drink, etc. etc. How can that be? Well, finally push comes to shove, and in mid-August, I started my "fun" ritual of having beers that night and ran out. My inner alcohol friend said, "I'm