Notices

Lost job

Old 07-27-2014, 11:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lost job

Couldn't even go in due to withdrawl yesterday and that was it. Only 20 still live at home but the withdrawl and how much I drink it's like I've been drinking for 10+ years. Taken a tole on my body but I'm going to a treatment facility tomorrow. I just feel awful the stress I've put on my family and just not bein a good employee, regardless when I am sober I am a great worker it just comes at a bad time due to we have a family reunion in Oregon starting this week. I'm from Washington state but I feel like I need to get out of the culinary world. It's a pretty hard partying environment (at least from my experience) and I'm not only embarassed but it has just put me in a dark mood as well and I feel selfish because my family tries to help me but I just keep slipping. I heard counseling and what not really helps so I am gonna give it a go. I just need a new hobby and something to do when I'm bored that's not drinking all day, and literally all day too.
Old 07-27-2014, 12:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Bradtabs! You are so young, you can beat this and then you have your life ahead of you. You are taking the right steps. Yes, we all need to replace the "habit" of drinking alcohol with something else. That's the hard part.

I'm a little curious how you could have been drinking 10+ years when you are only 20? Did you grow up around it?
Old 07-27-2014, 12:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I did drink for over ten years. 23 years all together. At the end it was drinking shooters of whiskey at 8 am, then beer all day.
I had a job that was a drinking culture too, and like you, I was a great worker when not drunk or hungover. But the things I missed-the opportunities and lost relationships and the horrors of the day after. I wasn't living, I was existing.
I tried to get sober for ten years only to slip and slip and slip. It took going to AA to save me.