Notices

7 day sober in nightlife business

Old 12-22-2013, 09:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

7 day sober in nightlife business

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum. Im a 30 year old male and I'm 7 days sober now. I'm not sure if I was a full blown alcoholic but then again maybe I'm in denial. I started drinking at night time bc i would get super anxious and nervous and and a glass of wine would allow me to relax. The problem is that once I had once glass I started drinking the whole bottle before I knew it. When I woke up the anxiety was even more severe bc of the hangover. So I would deal with the anxiety until the night came again and then start the process over again. I didn't drink every night, but probably had alcohol 3-5 days out of the week. On the weekends I often went to clubs and dinners and had many vodka tonics. I feel like I have missed many good times bc of horrible hangovers. The problem is I work in the entertainment business and i'm often in nightclubs or social events. Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with my addiction in these social settings? Tricks to staying sober during stressful situations?
Old 12-22-2013, 09:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Remember how you feel afterwards. For me, I had to start thinking about alcohol as something I was allergic to. Like a poison.

As long as I remember that, I can deal with being around drinkers.

As for the anxiety, that just takes time. Is it something you could/need to see a doctor about?
Old 12-22-2013, 09:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank u. That's def a good idea. The hangovers are awful! Guess it will take some practice and getting use toS I'm currently seeing a doctor and am getting Zoloft for the anxiety. I'm gonna set up a new apt to see if we can maybe tweak the med bc of the nighttime anxiety.
Old 12-22-2013, 09:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Flman